My heart, which is so full to overflowing, has often been solaced and refreshed by music when sick and weary. – Luther

November 8, 2008

WOW, I’ve been kind of out of commission for the past week as I have been sick, and I have really gotten my horns busted by some of you!  Tell you what…if you have a comment or a gig and it’s getting really close to the date and I have not posted it yet…feel free to just post it to comments on the blog!  Make sure it’s under $30 and not X-rated, and is written with some semblence to English…no emoticons, LOL’s or the like.  Most of the people who read this thing are adults…keep that in mind, is all I ask!

And now I am just going to jump right in…

I’ve been corrected!

The phrase is, “Music to soothe the savage breast.”  Ooops…literary faux pas.  I have an excuse…I haven’t been feeling good…my mind is muddled…Oh, all right, I screwed up!  Thank you, Doug, for pointing that out.  I need you all to keep me on my toes! 

Got a great email from Sonic Underground…house concert…cutting and pasting again…Hey there, just wanted to let you know that we’re hosting a House Concert/Open Mic this Sunday, 11/9 from 4-7pm.  Here’s the info if you have time/interest in listing:http://www.Lucky13.fm

Sonic Underground is hosting a House Concert/Open Mic in Stony Brook 11/9/08 from 4-7pm featuring Iowa songstress/Kerrville finalist Michelle Dalziel, an open mic and Lucky 13. Food, wine, music and fun all for a $15 donation. Keyboardists welcome-we’ll already have one set up. Guitarists, bring your own.

In order to reserve go to:http://www.Lucky13.fm

Directions and confirmation given upon reserving your spot. Hope to see/hear you there!

Shenole Latimer and Gale Storm wil be at Dockside Cafe on the 15th. (Gale, if you have a site, send me the URL so I can link to it…I keep finding a million other Gale Storms!)

Jazz in the Living Room is back this week with another workshop!

This one sounds like a hoot!  Mary Lamont at the Lindenhurst Knights of Columbus Hall, also on the 15th…country dance lessons will be given at the break.  $15 per person!

David Jon Paisley will be at University Cafe on Friday the 14th…and this week, on the 9th is Mustard’s Retreat.

Getting a bit ahead of the dates here, but Miles to Dayton will be at the Bellport Songwriter Series on the 23rd.  $5 gets you in.  This band rocks!  If you have ever seen them, you know.  If you haven’t, you should!

New gigs out there…this is VERY cool!  Again, with a copy and paste… WoodSongs at the Movies at Clearview Cinema’s Manhasset Cinema*, 430 Plandome Road, Manhasset, 516-365-9188.
Admission $12.00 Purchase tickets on-line. All shows consist of an opening act of a live local performer, followed by an on-screen movie of a one-hour show from WoodSongs Old-Time Radio Hour from the historic Kentucky Theater in Lexington, KY.  November 12, 2008: Wednesday 7:30pm
On stage – James O’Malley and Jaime Michaels, on screen: Kathy Mattea.

Getting a bit ahead of myself again, but this one is going to be one great show!  The Vail-Leavitt Music Hall is presenting their Original Voices at the Vail on the 20th.  Featuring Last Charge of the Light Horse (previously mentioned on this blog, really good, sound kinda like Cake, one of my all time faves…) and two open mic sessions…this will be one hot ticket!

And now…parlaying from music to wine…loving this new venue!  Jazz N Grapes in Huntington.  The name says it all!

Spill the wine…

Borghese Vineyards is hosting something right up my alley!  You all know I love my wine.  What you may not realize is that I collect corks.  Susan DeStafano will be presenting Inside the Artist’s Studio–Cork Art (what to do with all those corks…I now realize I am not alone!).

Also at Borghese Vineyards and also FREE…taunt your palette with decadent flavor: chicken bruschetta demonstration with Chief Instructor Chris Chriello of Loaves and Fishes Cooking School on November 15!

November 13th brings us a Beer Tasting Dinner at Wave Restaurant in Port Jeff!

Shopping cART…

Calling all artists and shoppers!  The East End Arts Council is revving up their Holiday Market and Holiday Market Plus! 

The Jamesport Manor Inn will be featuring the works of Jan Culbertson, Aija Meisters, Susan Ecker, and Stu Mc Callum.

It’s time for Harvest Gospel Concerts! Many of these events donate the proceeds to local charities such as Lighthouse Mission.  The East End Arts Council has theirs listed here and Briarcliffe College is hosting theirs on November 14th (contact Steven Mitchell at 631-569-2070, say you read about it here).

The Smithtown Arts Council at Apple Bank presents the works of Ross Barbera.

Gallery 4222 in Port Jeff is feautring the works of Robert Perinuzzi…his works make me think of what would happen if Emilio Pucci, Braque, Klee, and Kandinsky had illustrated the Kama Sutra or Rigveda…psychodelic/cubist with an Indian flavor…it’s just really cool!

I’ll be adding more on Monday/Tuesday, so check back!  Have a gig/exhibit/event?  Email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com! Coming soon, by request…Ace Paisley, Design Detective–sensible interior design advice for those on a modest budget.  Inexpensive does not have to mean cheap!  Also coming soon…me figuring out the podcasts and links on WordPress AND mailing list info…and photos…and I need more hours in the day…Chat soon, y’all!

One Response to “My heart, which is so full to overflowing, has often been solaced and refreshed by music when sick and weary. – Luther”

  1. Rick Boyer Says:

    I just stopped by your blog and thought I would say hello. I like your site design. Looking forward to reading more down the road.

Leave a Reply

