A two-pound turkey and a fifty-pound cranberry – that’s Thanksgiving dinner at Three-Mile Island.-Carson

November 25, 2008

Well,  it’s time for me to start posting events for the upcoming holiday week events, and there’s a lot going on!  Read on, my friends, to find out where to go, what to see, and where to be seen for the upcoming week!

Rock and roll hoochie coo…

This one is a little over Cheap Date guidelines, but is a great show worth mentioning!  Blackie and the Rodeo Kings and Mary Lamont will be at University Cafe on November 30.  Advance tickets are $18, $23 at the door, but this is a show you should not miss!

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s John McEuen will be at Stephen Talkhouse on November 29th, $15 at the door.

Hydroyum will be at Bobbique this Wednesday…they’re young, but good. I’ve seen them at Live in the Lobby and had to get the cd! 

Wine me, dine me…

I look for any way I can to save money, and one of those ways is by signing up for mailing lists.  It’s great as you often get in on deals that those not on the lists, well, don’t.  Case in point-Houdek’s (you all must know by now it’s my go to place for wine) just sent me an email promoting the new Fat Bastard Grand Reserve NV (retail $16.99 a bottle) for $4.99 a bottle (for email list members only, must have coupon to get this deal).  Their wines are French, the name is hilarious, and for the price you can’t go wrong!  I’ll let you know how it is after I crack open the case I’m planning to buy! (I hope it’s not sold out when I get there!)

For me, it’s rather easy to be cheesy, but to go with my case of grape juice, I’m going to have to pick up some cheese of the dairy variety.  Click here to find a listing of local cheese shops and online vendors. 

Maybe you’d prefer a sweeter pairing…like chocolate.  Sweet Gourmet is a cute little shop that I do some of my Christmas shopping in every year.

And… as this is Thanksgiving week…I’m going to let you in on a hearty turkey and sausage soup recipe that is just the best for a cold weekend afternoon, when you are hanging around the house in your sweatpants (or footie pajamas)…now you know what to do with the leftovers! 

Poetry corner

Poetry isn’t just for high school English students and literature majors.  Slam poetry is a thriving underground movement here on the Island that is picking up steam.  Poetry jams are popping up an a fairly frequent basis these days…and this weekend Northport Arts Coalition presents Poets-in-Port , hosted by Steven Schmidt. Featured poet is Barbara Reiher-Meyers, at Caffé Portofino (on North side of Main Street, across from the Post Office) in the village of Northport. Open mike follows.

It’s movie date night…

One of the movies on my short list that I want to go see is The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas…it will be playing at Cinema Arts starting this Wednesday, $9 gets you in.

One of the things I miss is the old fashioned movie houses that I grew up with…ones with parking lots where you could park within three miles of the building, stand in a fancy lobby that didn’t look like it was some mass produced plastic, glass and metal corral that was designed to herd us like cattle to the movie of our choice, and pay less than $15 like you do at the multiplex.  Granted, the selection may be limited and the seats not as comfy, but it’s my first choice if I’m going to see a movie!  Sayville Theatre in (you guessed it) Sayville still holds to the old fashioned way of running a theatre.  It’s small, intimate, and has a lot of history. 

KIOLI

With the sketchy economy, it’s time for us to take care of our own to ensure that the local mom and pops don’t go out of business.  Readers of this blog will know that I am a big supporter of the smaller, lesser known venues that provide personal service and unusual offerings.  As I was waiting at the hairdresser attending to my strawberry tresses this weekend, I grabbed the Long Island Press (one of my faves) and started reading about the newest movement gaining a head of steam: KIOLI–Keep It On Long Island.  This site lists local businesses and lots of other info in the hopes of keeping us all buying on our Main Streets and stimulating the local economy.  Count me in folks, I’m right there with you!

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Patchogue Village hosts their Christmas parade this weekend…Saturday, 6PM, Main Street.  Lots of men in kilts, ladies!  (I still wonder if they are sporting skivvies under those things…though the photo my galpal sent me of one of the bagpipe players who got caught in a breeze says otherwise!)

The Holtsville Ecology Site starts their annual Brite Nites show this week.  My suggestion?  Grab some hot cocoa, crank the car heater, and head on down…$12 per carload, and if you click here you can download a $2 off coupon!

This coming weekend also brings us the Festival of Trees…the trees are professionally decorated and there is a gingerbread village.  Click here for more info and MTA discount coupons.

Montauk Lighthouse will be hosting their Christmas at the Lighthouse event…$8 gets you in.

Port Jeff has their Santa Claus Parade and tree lighting this Saturday!

Fire Island hosts their Tree Trimming Event Saturday, November 29, 10-3PM. FREE! Bring a handmade ornament relating to the sea, nature or the Lighthouse to hang on the Keepers Quarters tree.  Also, this weekend, Holiday Hikes at the Wilderness Center Friday, November 28, 9AM-Noon.

The Long Island Museum in Stony Brook has their Holiday Festival going on thru this weekend, $8 to get in.

All for now, you kooky cats!  Have a very happy and healthy Thanksgiving!  If you can think of something that should be here, feel free to email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com!

Patchogue Boat Parade Pics”

 dsc030011dsc029821

dsc03007

Leave a Reply

