To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.-Wilde

December 4, 2008

I had to go for a stress test today…so much fun!  (NOT!) It seemed so easy when they they first tethered me up and put me on the treadmill.  “Bring it on,” I thought.  “This is just way too easy–what is all the fuss about?”  Then the speed started increasing, and the angle of the incline.  Pretty soon, I was a sweaty mess, breathing heavy and running on the darn thing.  It made me realize that I really need to get off my butt and out exercising not only on my lunch hour, but on the weekends as well…and with that being said, let me let you in on some great outdoor activities going on this weekend that will get your heartrate up, your legs moving, and some fresh air on your skin!

Seal of approval

Starting this week, CRESLI will be running their Seal Walks.  Get up close and personal with seals both out in Montauk and Cupsogue.  Reservations are required, but this is something you really should not miss!  $5 per adult, $3 per child, and suitable for the whole family.  What I want to know more about is the Seal Cruises! Sign me up!

The Long Island Trail Lovers Coalition lists many great hiking trails on their site…just because there’s a nip in the air doesn’t mean it’s not a good time to walk through the woods!  In fact, at this time of year it’s often easier to see the wildlife than when there’s leaves on the trees!

It may not be cold enough to go ice skating outdoors yet, but rest assured, there are plenty of places to go indoors!  The Rinx is a personal favorite, but get on out there and find one for yourself!

I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus…

‘Tis the season–and there is so much to do and see that one could be worn out running to and fro!  However, there are some standout events you may want to check out to get you and your Cheap Date in a festive mood! The Bayville Fun Park has been converted into a Winter Wonderland for young and old alike!  Both indoor and outdoor events are featured, and there is something for everyone!  $10 admission.

A little closer to my neck of the woods is the Camp Edey’s Winter Wonderland in Bayport.  This event, which has been running for the past few years is brought to you by the Girl Scouts.  $12 per carload.

My design students should appreciate this one!  Holiday house tours abound at this time of year.  Click here for info and dates!

Cheap eats!

I have to thank my honey for this one!  Newsday has a link to dining deals that can’t be beat!  Check this one out for gift cards for great Long Island restaurants at HALF PRICE!  The only catch is that if you don’t use the whole value, you forfeit the remainder.  Don’t forget to scroll to the bottom of the page to click on the link to view ALL the restaurants!

My honey turned me on to the wonders of Chimay–both the cheese and the beer.  Created by Trappist monks, this is some good eatin’! (And drinking!)  The beer can be found in quite a few places that serve or carry microbrews, but the cheese, well, that can be a bit harder to find.  Fear not!  Chimay has a website that will allow you to recieve emails about upcoming events in your area!  Don’t miss out–sign up today!

Wolffer Vineyard has a great tasting room and on Thursday nights they feature jazz from 5:30-7:30PM.  Wine is served by the glass…but if you are looking to save some coin, do as I do–buy an entire bottle and split it with your Cheap Date. This is what I do at almost any vineyard.  Why? Often, the prices by the glass in a tasting room can add up quickly.  Many good wines are under $20 a bottle; in fact, many can be found in the $10-15 range.  When you figure that you can get four glasses of wine from one bottle, that brings you down to, oh, say,  $3.75 per glass as compared with the somewhere around $6-8 (and more) per glass you would pay if purchasing individually.  My pick?  The 2006 Reserve Merlot (and I’m not even a merlot fan!).  This is a fruity, medium bodied wine that would pair well with a burger or possibly even a stew (depending how you make yours). 

All for now, kooky cats!  Keep checking back…there’s always new content being added!  Got an event?  Email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com!

One Response to “To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.-Wilde”

  1. AdoptionLawyer Says:

    This is a fantastic site! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

