The safest way to double your money is to fold it over and put it in your pocket.-Hubbard

January 7, 2009

Well, 2008 is over and we are already a few days into 2009…a year that holds promise for a brighter future and new opportunities.  Resolutions have been made (and broken) and I’m looking forward to a year of saving money, fixing up the house, cooking more, and loving life.  All on my meager budget!  Cheap dates–here I come!

There are a lot of great things going on, and I certainly don’t want any of you to miss out!  I’ll post some of them coming up post haste, but next week, I’ll be back big time…rested, recovered from my latest cold, and ready to load you all up with great local events to do with a friend or sweetie for $30 and under!  Read on, as the ones I am posting now are coming up THIS WEEK and you don’t want to miss out!

A little song and dance…

Acoustic Long Island kicks off the new year with one of my faves, Return to the Dream, featuring Tom Griffith and Martha Trachtenberg.  These two are so talented and well known on the folk/acoustic circuit.  Don’t miss the chance to see them for one of their rare FREE shows Wednesday night!

Live in the Lobby also has a great show coming up on Thursday with the Johnny Lee Jordan Band.  If you like Tom Waites, you’ll love this!  Say hi to me as you come on in…I’ll be the gal taking your money!  Good beer, great music, it doesn’t get much better than this!

WoodSongs at the Movies features Ken Korb this week!  If you have an Optimum Rewards card, buy one ticket, get one FREE!

Jay Scott will be at the Eclectic Cafe on January 10!

Hank Stone will be at Grounds and Sounds on January 9th (there will also be an open mic…)  Hank, I feel your pain with having to keep up with a blog!

Brooks Williams and Beaucoup Blue will be at the University Cafe on January 11.

All for now as my kitten is trashing my house!  I will be back next week with gallery shows, puppet workshops, hikes, and more!  Have an event?  Let me know at cheapdateli@gmail.com!  By the way, when I finally get my MySpace page back up for all the writing gigs I do, I expect to see some of you listing me as a friend!  Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

