Cover a war in a place where you can’t drink beer or talk to a woman? Hell, no!–Thompson

January 22, 2009

Ah…wine, women, and song…or for others, beer, men, and a movie…whatever your thrill, I’m sure I can find something for you to do this week!  And I have something coming I’ve heard about that is in the works that might help you meet meet someone special to do these things with!

Recent updates…

The concert that was to be held at the Patchogue Theatre has been cancelled for Saturday night.  However, the Winter Arts Festival goes on…with the poetry jam that was to be on the big stage being held earlier in the day in the Theatre lobby.  Gentlemen, if you’d like a potential lady love to think that you are refined and cultured, this event is FREE, and chicks usually dig this kind of thing! (And don’t forget to say hi to me, as I’ll probably be working one of the tables!  Just look for the cute strawberry blonde!)

There will be a speed dating event coming up very soon in Patchogue!  The details are being worked out, but will be on a Saturday in February, seating will be limited to 50-100 people, and will include food.  Interested?  Click here for more info!

It’s an Hoptical Illusion!

Nope, that’s not a misspelling…it’s a reminder that this weekend is the Cask Ale Festival at Blue Point Brewery.  Over my price guidelines, but well worth attending!

Now, I know I talk about wine and beer a lot here, but now it’s time for something completely different…single malt scotch.  Mora’s in East Setauket will be having a tasting event featuring Laphroaig and Ardmore.  Did I mention it’s free?

And, now…back to my wine!  Jazz n Grapes will be hosting the Danny Wolf Trio from 6-9PM while running a wine tasting event.  FREE.

Movie night!

The Cinema Arts Center has some great things coming up this week (and I was remiss in not noting that tonite was one of the “Anything but Silent” gigs…sorry, Ben!  But for all of you who have never done something like this, it’s really cool!  In fact, cool enough that there are tons of websites about it!  Click here to learn more! ) and one is Slumdog Millionaire…this award winning movie was written by the same person who wrote Run, Lola, Run…I need not say more!  And for you folks who like to walk the edge like me, the Theatre of the Wild brings back Jackie Boy in Easy Rider!

The other night I finally broke down and put on a couple of the horror flicks my brother left at my house…and if you are a fan of high camp B-movies(think George Romero), Slither is a must see!  This gorefest pays homage to the best of the worst 80’s horror movies with lots of references (if you watch the extras, you’ll be wondering how you missed them), naughty humor (don’t watch this with your kids), and a killer squid (I kid you not).  I didn’t know whether to crack up or be ill.  THIS IS A GREAT DATE MOVIE!

I’ll be back at the library tomorrow, so you know I’ll have more things to post (notice I didn’t even get to music gigs yet?).  Check back, check often, email me with info at cheapdateli@gmail.com.  By the way…you can now also follow me on Twitter!  Microposts are added daily, so check in for the news you might miss otherwise! (and a Facebook page is under construction, as I’m tired of getting grief…you know who you are!).

Leave a Reply

