Money doesn’t talk, it swears.–Dylan

January 24, 2009

Another day at the library, and it’s absolutely FREEZING in here!  Good thing I have lots of typing to do for all the blogs I work on (yes, I ghost-write quite a few…), as I need something to take my mind off the fact that my fingernails are turning BLUE!

Gee, coffee would be nice, warm me up a little, but the cafe’s not open…guess I’ll have to wait to get my decaf non-fat “why bother” coffee…

I promised I would get to add some music picks for the week…so here goes.

Finger-pickin’ good!

Bennett Harris, fingerstyle Piedmont and Delta blues and ragtime guitarist, and his acoustic trio will be at the Patchogue-Medford Public Library   on Sunday the 25th. 631-654-4700. 2:30PM, FREE.

Stuart Markus, LI-based singer-songwriter and member of the folk harmony trio Gathering Time, performs solo this Tuesday at Rachel’s Waterside Grill,  516-546-0050. 9:30 PM.

“WoodSongs at the Movies” features a 45-minute live performance by David Bailey this Wednesday…get two for one tickets with your Optimum Rewards card. 

James O’Malley,  singer-songwriter and guitarist performs songs from his new album in a Finch Mountain House Concert this Friday in Babylon. 631-661-1278. 8 PM concert, preceded by 7 PM pot-luck supper. $15 suggested donation plus a dish to share. Reservations required.

Next Sunday, John Flor and Rorie Kelly, singer-songwriters, perform as part of the Bellport Songwriter Series at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Bellport, 51 Browns Lane, Bellport. 7:30 PM. $5 suggested donation.

I stopped in at the Brick House last Sunday night to catch up with some friends from work, and caught the Josey Wales open mic…there were some very talented musicians up there…including J.D. Leonard and John Judd.  Definitely worth a stop in.

Enough for now…gotta get in gear and get down the Patchogue Arts Festival…maybe I’ll see you there! 

Speed dating update…

I have an email address for the gal who is trying to get the local speed dating thing going for around Valentine’s day…contact her for more info at speeddaterli@gmail.com.

Got an upcoming gig or event?  Email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com! Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

