I think on-stage nudity is disgusting, shameful and damaging to all things American. But if I were 22 with a great body, it would be artistic, tasteful, patriotic and a progressive religious experience.-Winters

February 10, 2009

Ah, ain’t gettin’ older grand?  The fact that I’m turning 40 this year-that I qualify for the “Silver Plan” according to that cheesy TV commercial, that a push up bra is a necessity these days instead of something worn to attract the opposite gender, and that pounds pack on faster than I can ingest them-it’s all hitting me now.  Don’t get me wrong…I look darn good.  I pass for someone ten years younger.  However, I know that soon (oh, so soon) the years will be marching across my face, my waist will be a forgotten memory, and my greys will be too numerous to count–NOT!!!!!

I have decided today that I will be running a 5K before my 40th birthday.  In the past few weeks, I have purchased weights (which I am using) a chin up bar (which I have yet to assemble and install) and a sit up bar (ditto).  I got running shoes and found a great running website for couch potatoes which I plan on starting tomorrow.  I am going to fight this all the way! 

One of my secrets to looking so young is to have fun as often as I can.  Being mirthful over the little things (and ecstatic over the big ones) just has a way of keeping us in a good place, both mentally and physically.  Everyone has their own “something” that brings them joy.  Mine is food, beer, wine, movies, my hottie honey, and too many other things to list.  And on that note…let me start listing some cool things here.  (If you are looking for music and such, check my previous post for this week’s listings, though there will be some here as well!)

It’s the sparkle in your eyes!

Fellas, have you met that special someone?  You know she is the one…and she’s not materialistic–that she appreciates something for its beauty and the thought behind it (because a SMART girl knows that a man who knows how to save money is incredibly sexy)–and you want to get her something that will really knock her socks off with its sparkle?  This Dazzle ring by Swarovsky is smokin’!  Don’t judge by the picture…go see it!  At $90, it’s not a Cheap Date deal, but if she’s anything like me and you are looking to take your relationship to the “next level”, this might be the ring to get (who the heck cares if it’s not diamonds anyway…I’ve got more jewelry I DON’T wear…and no, honey, this is NOT a hint!).

I’m wearing my art on my sleeve…

There’s some really great art shows going on right now!  At Suffolk County Community College’s Huntington Library, the thread art of Charles Winslow will be on display until February 27th.  FREE.

The Long Island Black Artists Association will be showing their work through March 27 at the Molloy College Art Gallery. FREE.

The Brookhaven Arts Council is feeling a bit romantic this week with two very special offerings–at the Gallery on the Hill will be a visual art summation of “The Loves of my Life”, and at the North Shore Heritage Center will be the A. R. Gurney play, “Love Letters” on, appropriately enough, Valentine’s Day.

The Staller Center has art all around!  From undergrads to MFA’s, there is art of all types here!  FREE!

Christopher Gallery has the work of many artists on display and is definitely worth a look around…

Beer me!

My pick of the week is Unibroue (I hope I spelled that right!) Chambly Noire.  This dark brew is a treat with notes of chocolate and cherry, but it’s not too heavy to have with some hearty food.  It can be found at most local beverage centers and is relatively inexpensive at about $5 a bottle.

My honey and I also tried the Atwater Vanilla Java at Bobbique this weekend.  It’s good, but a bit overly sweet to my palate.  If you know of someone who doesn’t like hoppy beers and leans toward fruit brews and stouts, this might be a good choice.  This would probably make a great beer float with vanilla ice cream.

Coming soon…

This one is a bit over guidelines, but with so many great acts…it’s worth it!  A Celebration of Life, featuring Jack’s Waterfall, the Kerry Kearney Band, Miles to Dayton, Karma Sutra and MORE will be hosted by the Patchogue Congregational Church on February 27th.  Tix are $20 a person, and available at the Brick House, the Blue Point Brewery, and the Jack’s Waterfall website. 

Gotta run…it’s getting late!  I still have to do some research on microwineries (yes, I might just do this!) and shut down the computers.  Got a gig or event that should be here?  Let me know at cheapdateli@gmail.com, and don’t forget to check for my Pick of the Day on Twitter!  Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

