We all have big changes in our lives that are more or less a second chance.-

March 24, 2009

Boy, it’s been a heck of a week!  I found out I may be losing my day job (the one that actually pays my rent and such).  The pickings are rather slim out here on LI, and the only nibbles I am getting are in NYC…I really DON’T want to move back to the city!  (Not that there’s anything wrong with NYC, I grew up there, but I’ve become a real beach bum over the past few years!)  So before I get to the gigs and such, I’m just putting it out there that if you are looking for someone who is active in the arts, e-media, and/or writing, I may just be your gal!

Open mics and other gigs…

I apologize for the late posts this week…my life has been in an upheaval!  So, without further adeiu–

There are quite a few open mics…many are regular weekly deals, while others only pop up here and there.  Tuesday night at Napper Tandy’s starts the week off right…followed on Wednesdays at Cool Beanz…Thursday is jamming with THREE open mics–Joe Vicino’s open mic at Toomey’s Tavern; open mic night at E.B. Elliot’s on the Nautical Mile, Freeport, call John to reserve a spot, 516-524-9270; and a traditional Irish session at Maguire’s Public House, Woodside, Queens (you never know when you might see me at this one…considering I may be moving back to the area soon!).

This week is an amazing week gig-wise!  There are some wonderful acts I’m listing here that I am lucky enough to have seen, many more than once.  Do yourself a favor and check any of these out!

Wednesday kicks it all off when the amazingly talented Phil Minissale, a Piedmont-style blues guitarist plays Bobbique, no cover. 

On Friday, the Homegrown String Band plays The Grey Horse Tavern, a Miss Chris fave; Stuart Markus, the hardest working man around as far as I can tell, plays solo acoustic at The Clubhouse; and Jay Scott, friend of Miss Chris, plays Brickhouse Brewery, $5 cover.

This Saturday, Caroline Doctorow will be at Stephen Talkhouse, $10 door; a bit above budget, but still worth seeing is Gathering Time at Five Towns College at $20 a head; also above budget but an amazing performer worth ponying up the $25 to see–the amazing Christine Lavin will be at the Last Licks Cafe; Cathy Kreger of Lucky 13 will be at Elijah Churchill’s;  and the Kerry Kearney Band will be at the Boulton Center (and a bit over budget at $20 tix).

Don’t wine about being alone…

A bit above budget (but maybe you’ll meet someone to Cheap Date with!), a Single Mingle wine and beer tasting event! Sample and learn about a blind wine tasting game to mix and mingle with the crowd. “Date Match Cards” will be distributed and your “matches” will be provided to you the next day. Dancing with live entertainment upstairs at the City Cafe. Wine or beer samples, appetizers, icebreaker games and raffle prizes all included all for the price of $25 (in advance), $30 CASH at the door…FREE GIFT for the first 10 ladies to arrive!

This one is probably the best deals I’ve seen, and of course, it’s at Martha Clara Vineyards!  This Saturday, don’t miss their wine and chocolate pairing for just $5 per person!  Make your reservations now as these events sell out quickly!!!

Of course, Mora’s and Jazz n Grapes are doing their weekly FREE tastings…

Dinner and a movie…

The Cinema Arts Centre’s Theatre of the Wild presents Scott Walker-30 Century Man–a movie about the enigmatic former pop star who just released a shocking new album (The Drift) after a decade long silence.  Commentaries by fans such as David Bowie, Brian Eno, and Radiohead provide insight into his influence on today’s music scene.

The Staller Center still has a few tickets available for this weekend’s showing of Milk…get them before they sell out!

And talking about dinner…it’s not upscale, it’s not fancy, it’s certainly not Teller’s, but I found a great deal at J and R Steakhouse last week on my way back from the vineyards!  Make sure you check out the specials…for $11.99, you get a soup or salad, an entree, and a dessert!  I got the salad (nice size), the marinated Romanian skirt steak with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed veggies, and a bowl of rice pudding (also nice size).  Who knew? 

While we’re on the topic of food…did you know that many LI towns are having their own “Restaurant Week” this week or next?  The Hamptons start theirs this coming weekend, and though it’s $24.95 per person, when else are you going to dine at some of these great restaurants for this little coin?  I’ve heard that Smithtown and several others will be running their own…when I get more info, you’ll see it here!

All for now, you kooky cats!  I’m sure I’ll have some add-on’s later this week!

We’re GROWING!!!  We’ve surpassed my personal goal of 2,500 individual page views!  Stay tuned for photo albums, coupons, and sponsorship opportunities…we’re going to be moving to a full fledged website in the next few months (I.E.-get more traffic by having your logo and link on CDLI!)!!  Let’s keep this thing growing…tell your friends about this site!

Have an event that should be here?  Email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

