Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory.-Schweitzer

May 9, 2009

Well, I started the temp gig this week and it’s great–the staff is wonderful, I like the work.  If I could only get more hours, life would be grand!  Not to say I haven’t been busy this week…I’m still recovering from bronchitis and a sinus infection, it was finals week at the college, AND I sold another article…but I made a point of getting out to Acoustic Long Island this week, and worked the Live in the Lobby show.  If you went to either, you know that this week’s performances were outstanding to say the least!  ALI featured Colin McGrath and Chris Trapper–Colin’s music was sweet, the lyrics witty, his percussionist was AMAZING (I was sitting right behind him and all I have to say is WOW!), and he was a treat to watch from right up front.  I wish I had brought my camera!  Chris Trapper, however, is now on my faves list!  His music was just plain out hilarious…I’m bummed that I started feeling woozy during the first set and had to move outside and watch from the porch (between being sick and the heat in there, I almost passed out!).  If you have the chance to see him, GO!  The sing-alongs and the revelry of geek-to-chicdom (of which I can relate!) make this performer a must see!  (By the way, Chris, if you do end up reading this…I too have met Ron Jeremy…)

On Thursday, I had the pleasure of seeing Mambo Loco–another band I have every intention of seeing again!  Their classic mambo music had the audience up and dancing (too bad that the cheap wine I was drinking snuck up on me–my low tolerance as of late resulted in my twisting my ankle!).  If you want to hear music that just screams, “It’s summer–hand me a mojito!”, this is THE band to see!

When I hear music…

Not a lot of gigs this week, but the ones I found are high quality and worth checking out!  I’ve seen every single one of these acts and have to say if I am feeling better, it’s going to be another busy week for Miss Chris!

On Tuesday, we kick off the week with two great open mics–one at Cool Beanz, and the one hosted by Dave March of Miles to Dayton at Once and For All (go there to listen to some great music, come back for the killer beer selection!).

Wednesday at Bobbique (another place with probably the largest craft beer selection I have ever seen) is a great gig with the Jim Moran Band, Pam Betti, Ed Terry, and Ed the Hat.  All very talented musicians, to be sure–but add great food, craft brews, and a very affordable price point…this is a great place for a Cheap Date!

Thursday night finds a great open mic at Toomey’s Tavern hosted by Joe Vicino; the Canvas open mic is also running this week, $5 gets you in!

Friday–I did let you all know about Roy Book Binder at BNL last post, but there’s another great gig going on that I was remiss in not adding last week–The Brooklyn Folk Festival at Jalopy Theatre in Red Hook, Brooklyn!  $10 for a day pass, $25 for the entire event!

Saturday has me all confused–which great gig to go to?  Caroline Doctorow will be at the Southampton Publick House; the Folk Music Society of Huntington’s Hard Luck Café series presents Bob Westcott’s First Annual Spring Fling. Featured artists are David Bailey, Return to the Dream, and Princess Peapod, $10 door; the Rhythm Kings Acoustic Duo will be playing in my neck of the woods at Grey Horse Tavern; and Nancy Sirianni and Mike Nugent play a mix of originals and blues at Peconic Bay Winery.

In wine is truth…

There are a couple of wine events worth checking out this week.  Twilight Thursdays at Wolffer Vineyard hosting the Dennis Raffelock Jazz Duo…no cover, pay by the glass; Corey Creek Vineyard will be hosting an artist’s reception for Roxie Shepish on Saturday with wine and hors d’oeuvres;  and Castello de Borghese will be hosting guided tours and Rose tastings (reservations required) with monies raised going towards cancer research.

Dog days

As I had just mentioned Castello de Borghese, I’d also like to mention that all you dog lovers have something to look forward to next weekend!  The Cutchogue Canine Classic, which is all about having a good time!

Calling all artists!

The Brookhaven Arts Council has an open call for their upcoming exhibit The Art of Flowers.  No matter the medium, whatever your bloom, show the world your version of flowers as art.  Drop off is May 18, with a reception May 31st.  Call 631-451-9070 for more information.

Birds of a feather

The North Fork Audubon Society is hosting a bird migration marathon on May 16, with prizes to be given for the most identified species.  Registration is required.

Crazy train

The Long Island Live Steamers are back with their public run days!  If you’re a train or model enthusiast, get yourself over to Southaven Park on May 17.  Meet other enthusiasts, and take a train ride!

We’re growing…

My little blog that I started writing for friends less than a year ago keeps growing and growing…I get emails from bands who find themselves on here, bands who would like to find themselves on here, people who touch base when I goof (which I am proud to say is not often!), wineries, Meet-Up groups, you name it!  I try my best to get everyone mentioned on here at least once in a while, but if you’ve ever blogged or maintained a website, you know there’s never enough hours in the day!  So my apologies to those who don’t find themselves on here…do me a favor–email me several times, as I get a lot of emails and it’s hard to get through them all!  Remember, this is for gigs and events that are (mostly) $30 and under for two people, original singers/songwriters, artists, mom and pop eateries, local fundraisers and the like.  It’s all about keeping it local!  Follow us on Twitter to make sure you don’t miss a post, and a shout out to some of our followers:  The New York Observer, Long Island Press, The New York Film Academy, AntiHamptons, The Blues Underground, and the Queens Museum of Art! (Plus a quick “Howdy!” to Paula and Jessica…nice to see I’m not Twittering alone!)

Email me your comments, etc., at cheapdateli@gmail.com!  I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

