Dreaming permits each and every one of us to be quietly and safely insane every night of our lives.-Dement

May 16, 2009

UGH!  I’m very tired and feel like poop today…I keep waking up in the middle of the night from these crazy dreams I’m having.  It’s bad enough to work six days a week (yes, even with the temp gig, I’m still working the crazy hours!), but to sleep less and less on the nights where I can’t sleep in the next day, well, I’m getting cranky!  I’ll have to cook myself into a happy place later…making a nice pizza rustica and enjoying it with a little bargain wine that I’ll let you in on…

Of grape and grain

My regular readers know I’m from the South Shore and frequent this great little shop called Houdek’s.  My wine cabinet was down to my two investment wines, and five bottles of “good stuff” that I am saving for a special occasion (i.e.; wines that I don’t often see at the stores but enjoyed at the vineyard, and are over my $12 a bottle rule–usually quite a bit over, like my Bedell’s 2006 Musee–and as I have no idea when I can get out to the vineyards to restock , well, you know what I mean) so it was time to “feed the beast” again.  As I am on a very tight budget right now with the temp gig, and I often cook with wine, I asked what they had that wouldn’t break the bank.  Bridgehampton Winery’s Chardonnay at $4.99 a bottle!  Considering it’s just a wee bit more than Three Buck Chuck and much tastier, this wine is a steal!   I gave this wine away at Christmas (along with the Merlot) and got raves from my friends (granted, some of them buy wine by the box).  Quantities are limited, so get down there NOW!

I also popped in at Beverage Central in Bayport and picked up a yummy new release from Southern Tier called Mokah.  A craft brew with heavy notes of chocolate and coffee, this would make for an outstanding float with vanilla ice cream (don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it!).

For a good cause

This weekend there are two great events I have gotten numerous emails about, and although one is above budget, please do your part to help!

From Mulcahey’s Wantaugh–Come down on this Sunday afternoon, May 17th, and help us raise money for Sophia’s cure. There will be free food, raffles and live music all afternoon. Admission is $25 and it’s from 2pm to 7pm. Please come down and help us raise money for this little girl.

On Saturday the 16th there is a book fair fundraiser to benefit PMYCS, a not for profit agency that has been servicing the Patchogue– Medford community since 1982. 9-5.  390 Bay Avenue, Patchogue, NY 11772.

I kid you not

The BAHC and the Mt. Sinai Heritage Center present a Family Fun Day this Sunday with storyteller Heather Forest, board games, races, food, and more!  The best part is this event is FREE, and if you are there late enough, you can say hi to me, as I’m working the afternoon shift!

I wear my art on my sleeve

There will be an Artists’ Gathering this Sunday at the Brookhaven Arts Council’s Gallery on the Hill.  Bring a piece of art to be critiqued and meet other local artists.

Stringing me along

It’s a pretty light week music wise, but I’ll post what I was able to come up with.  

This Thursday, Original Voices at the Vail features The Reinhardts, preceded by an open mic, $5 gets you in.

Also Thursday, Strings n’ Things Open Mic Night  presented by the Smithtown Township Arts Council, at the Mills Pond House.  FREE.

On Friday, Hank Stone is joined by Todd Evans for A Pagan Place House Concert in South Huntington. Contact mserin@optonline.net for more information and reservations.

Saturday, Rhythm Kings Acoustic Duo will be at fatfish in Bayshore.

Heard it thru the grapevine

Corey Creek Vineyards and Bedell Vineyards will be hosting live music next weekend.  This event is FREE, but tastings vary from $5-15.

All for now…it’s a pretty light week, but the following week is shaping up to be jam packed with Cheap Dates!  Chat soon, you kooky cats…and for those of you know me personally, you’ll find this amusing.

Somehow I think I must be related to one of these ladies!

Somehow I think I must be related to one of these ladies!

Leave a Reply

