Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity.-Patton

June 6, 2009

Well, it’s Saturday, and that means I’m at the library.  I am currently recovering from a trip yesterday into NYC to the MoMA.  Why recovering?  Because I am a knucklehead who decided to wear cute driving moccasins with no socks to walk around the city.  In the pouring rain.  In case you need me to explain, water got in my shoes…my feet were soaked…the leather dye stained my feet a strange blackish purple that makes them look like I have gangrene…I have blisters from the wet leather rubbing against my heels…and since I had to walk funny as my feet were hurting so badly by the end of the day, my back and hips are out of whack as well.  My poor honey (who is a foot taller than I am, with much longer legs; and therefore can walk way faster than I can) had to keep slowing down to allow me to keep up (and therefore staying in the rain way longer than he had to), and had to put up with my crankiness from feeling pretty lousy at the end of the day.  He’s a good man.  I think I’ll keep him. 

There’s a reason I am telling you all this. 

Art farts

A masterpiece of Futurism.

A masterpiece of Futurism by Boccioni.

Upon our arrival, we saw a long line of people waiting to get in to the MoMA (which almost made us leave as I HATE crowds and lines!) and I couldn’t figure out why.  There were no exhibits going on that I knew of that would warrant that sort of attendance on a rainy Friday evening.  It turns out that Target has an arrangement with the MoMA for FREE admission on Friday nites!  Considering the cost to get in is normally $20 per person, this is a great deal!  Be advised…you will be waiting on a long line outside, the museum will be really busy, and WEAR COMFY SHOES!

I’ll be getting my art on again tomorrow at the Gallery on the Hill (x63N off the LIE, follow the signs for Bald Hill), where I will be sitting in the gallery for this Sunday and next.  Come and see some incredible works by local artists, and say HI to me while you’re at it…FREE!

Coming up next weekend will be the opening reception for Little Black Book at the Mills Pond Gallery.  This looks good…I may just have to check this out…

The Circle Gallery also has a juried art show called Long Island Summer opening next weekend…call 516.322.0809 or 631.598.2182 for more info.

Wine me, dine me…

There are a few choice picks for wine events next weekend.  Post Wines in Syosset will be hosting a FREE Welcome Summer wine tasting next Saturday…Marth Clara (where I’m headed today after the library!) is hosting a book signing with Jane Starwood…and Mora’s is doing their FREE wine tasting as well!

Sing me a song…

This week is jam packed with great gigs, so I’m going to list them by day…

Monday

Music From the Hive singer/songwriter series at Mirelle’s Restaurant, 8PM

Wednesday

Acoustic Long Island is back to their old format of an open mic followed by a performance by Telly. FREE.

Long Island Fingerstyle Guitar Club presents a DADADE tuning techniques workshop and a performance by Jeff Curtis at the Westbury Friends Community Center. 8PM. $10 gets you in.

Thursday

Acoustic open mic, hosted by Joe Vicino at Toomey’s Tavern, 8PM.

Acoustic Thursdays, hosted by Dave Drew at Lefty’s Candlelight Bar & Grill, 8PM.

Tine Kindermann sings German folk songs with the aid of Frank London and Lorin Sklamberg of The Klezmatics at Barbes followed by a set by noted klezmer musician Andy Statman, 8PM.

Friday

Arlon Bennett will be at the Grounds and Sounds Café, preceded by an open mic at 8PM. $10 gets you in.

The nautical musical stylings of the Dave Rowe Trio closes out the season for the Our Times Coffeehouse at the Ethical Humanist Society, 8PM $15.

Saturday

Grand Folk Railroad will be at the Village Lanterne, 6PM.

Homegrown String Band will be playing their old timey tunes at the West Babylon Public Library, 2PM, FREE.

Claudia Jacobs performs for Real Musik House Concerts in Setauket at 8PM, $15 donation for performers. Reservations required, call 631-374-6740 or e-mail realmusik@optonline.net.

Pedro Pereira performs an hour-long set at Cool Beanz, 7:30PM.

Sunday

Folk Jam & Sing-Along sponsored by the Folk Music Society of Huntington at the Huntington Public Library, 1-4:30PM, FREE.

Homegrown String Band is back again! Wantagh Public Library, 2PM. FREE.

For a good cause

I’m just going to copy and paste this one to make sure I don’t leave anything out!  Please do your best to attend this event:

Join us June 20th for an all out assault on SMA when some of the Island’s hottest bands unite at Fin’s Pub in Oakdale!

Special thanks to Paul and Live Fast Die Fast for coordinating the effort, and to Tom Sinclair who is donating 100% of the door proceeds to Sophia’s Cure. And again thank you to all of you who can play and help out the cause.

$15 Charge at the door – 18 years and older

Fin’s Pub – 4608 Sunrise Hwy – Oakdale, NY 11769

(631)589-9525 (631)218-1875

Exit 48 Sunrise Hwy South Service Rd (Behind Shell Station)

http://www.finspub.com

13 Bands confirmed so far: WITHOUT NOTICE, SET AT SEA, BROOKSITE, HANDS LIKE FEET, SHEPHERDS, DEVIL SITS SHOTGUN, THE AWAKENING, UNDYING MORALS, WOLVERINE, BRING OUT YOUR DEAD, OUT OF STEP, SUPERBUICK, STIGMA, LIVE FAST DIE FAST.

All for now, you kooky cats!  Check back next Saturday for more hawt posts!  Got something that should be here?  Email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com, and make sure you follow me on Twitter so you don’t miss out on the latest updates!

Leave a Reply

