We all have big changes in our lives that are more or less a second chance.–Ford

November 10, 2009

This has been a big week for change–so many people I know are making some kind of job transition (including me…it’s my last night at the library), people I know are splitting up or getting together, the guy who sits in his underwear watching me at night is no longer doing so…wow…and for the most part it’s all good things!  I don’t want to jinx it…I just hope that the momentum keeps going!

Speaking of change, I’m making some huge changes myself.  Getting rid of twenty years’ worth of antiques, actually.  I’m keeping some, but for the most part, they are going.  It’s not that I’m a pack rat, but I’m at the point in my life where it’s time to get rid of things that have tied me to my past and move on.  If anyone is interested in vintage pieces at reasonable prices, let me know.  (And no, I’m not one of those lunatics who prices things astronomically thinking that what I have is worth a fortune.  I went to NYU for Appraisal Studies and know EXACTLY how much things are worth, and am listing them far below fair market value.)  Some items I am getting rid of include a typewriter the same model as found in the JFK Library, a church pew, Johnson Bros. Old English Chintz chintzware, possibly a Depression Era china cabinet, and more.

Take a hike, pal!

One of my absolute favorite things to do is to go hiking by the water.  The smell of the bay and the wind on my skin make the stresses of the day just melt away.  Add to that it’s great exercise!  Now, the streets, trails, and beach I go to several times a week are private property that I sneak onto (ooops!), but there are some great trails all around our Isle of Long that are worth checking out.  Click here for a list of great North Fork trails and make sure you bring a camera with you, as you never know when that picture perfect moment will come along!

Wine me, dine me…

Like wine?  Like The Allman Brothers and the Grateful Dead?  This event is for you!  The Reckoning will be playing at Martha Clara Vineyards this Saturday!  $5 tix must be purchased online before Friday.

Guitar hero

By now, y’all have to  know there’s nothing I like better than live music and a nice microbrew.  Too bad I’m broke this week…I may have to miss out on some of these great gigs!  This Thursday kicks it off right with the Second Thursdays Concert Series featuring John Wort Hannam at Astoria Federal Savings Bank, West Main Street, Babylon, 7:30PM,  FREE.

On Friday, Ken Korb and friends will be playing at a Miss Chris fave, the Grey Horse Tavern.

Miles to Dayton is back to performing and will be at the Homegrown Music Café, a new monthly series, at St. Gerard Majella Church in Port Jeff Station this Saturday night!

And, to close out the week, Gathering Time will be playing at the Port Washington Library this Sunday…hey, that show is FREE…I can afford that!

(Hey, on a serious note here…I want to start taking guitar lessons again!  I can’t play at all…long story short I learned to play righty on a left handed guitar, which I no longer have.  I went out and bought an Ibanez classical and I now have to unlearn everything and relearn.  I barely got through “Ode to Joy” when I ended up working insane amounts of hours and had to put it aside.  If there is anyone out there who can be patient with a 40 year old who plays like she’s five…let me know!  I will now have some time to have a life again and do some of the things I really want to do!)

Who knew?

Did you know that our feline friends can catch the H1N1 virus (Swine Flu) from humans?  This is not a joke or something you’ll find on Snopes, it’s been documented and has made national news.  If you’re under the weather and your kitty catches cold, don’t waste time!  Get her to the vet so that she can get on antibiotics as well!  Click here for Swine Flu updates for us two legged folks, and here for low cost vet care.

All for now…if you’re interested in some of the pieces I mentioned, or if you have something that should be here, email me at cheapdateli@gmail.com!  Chat soon, you kooky cats!

Leave a Reply

