The human brain starts working the moment you are born and never stops until you stand up to speak in public.–Jessel

November 24, 2009

Yup, that’s what happened to me tonight!  Speaking in front of a crowd of people and my dean…my brain cramped up and I started freezing up.  Anyone who knows me knows I have no problem with speaking in public, except for tonight…oh, well, I guess that’s what happens when you try to tone down a hyper chickie and make her sound normal!

Anyhow, it’s going to be a relatively short post as it’s a holiday week, and though the bars will be packed Wednesday night, there’s not a whole lot going on.  Instead, I had gotten an email from the New York City Newswire asking about great cheap eats here on the Island, and I figured that as some people just aren’t into turkey in all of its various incarnations, I’d run with that theme tonight.

Burgers, brews, and BBQ

I’m doing my first Turkey Trot this week, and as meat has not been my friend as of late, I’ve been avoiding these places like the plague and loading up on carbs (rice and beans, anyone?).  However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t know where to grab some reasonably priced carnivore chow and brewskis to wash them down!  Forget Checkers, Burger King, and other big chains…check out some of these reasonably priced local spots!

All American Burger is a longtime favorite of mine…burgers, dogs, fries, and killer shakes can be gotten here and definitely won’t break the bank!  Be prepared to wait on line, though!

American Roadside is another great burger joint that gets rave reviews from my honey and friends…

Peter Pan Diner makes EVERYTHING good!  The Royal Oak is a close runner up when it comes to burgers, though!

Howard’s Cafe is a place you can often find my honey and me on the nights we don’t feel like cooking.  Killer burgers, awesome steaks, and free sangria, soda, salad, and certain tap beers make this sports bar a popular place with locals.

Spicy’s is THE place to go for great BBQ when out East…with locations in Bellport and Riverhead, this joint is always jumping!

As long as you avoid the $16 specialty microbrews at Bobbique, this affordable blues joint has meat platters such as pulled pork, smoked sausages, and ribs cooked the real pit BBQ way.  Make a point of stopping down on an evening when there is music playing…you’ll be back!  (My pick?  The Caesar salad with pulled pork…you’ll have plenty of leftovers!)

Smokin’ Al’s is my pick if you aren’t going to travel quite as far out…with two locations, this place is still always packed but worth the wait…get the Burnt Endz–you won’t be sorry!

For the non-burger crowd

I’ve mentioned Gallo Tropical on here many times, with good reason.  Once I bring my friends here, they always want to come back.  Reasonably priced Colombian food, cafe style dining, and huge portions are the standard here.  Make sure you try the Five Milk Flan, and the spicy green sauce!  Even my non-adventurous parents like this place.

Fried seafood.  Oh, so unhealthy, but oh, so good!  Watch the ferries come in from your seat at The Steamroom!

Looking for something a bit healthier on the fishy front?  My long time go-to place is The Village Fish Market…get the cole slaw, too!

Looking for something a bit more exotic?  Try The Curry Club!  Indian food at its best–in the evenings, check out the Velvet Lounge as well!

Pub fare

I’ve got a long list of places I’d like to list here, and I’ll get around to it eventually, but I’m going to list two that come immediately to mind…Skipper’s and Two Morrows.  Make a point of checking them out!

Steak-ummmmmm

And lastly, two places that won’t break the bank for a steak dinner:  J and R’s Steakhouse is a growing chain with coupons on their website; and a great place to check out after holiday shopping in Suffolk County is The Good Steer.

All for now, you kooky cats!  Got something that should be here?  Let me know at cheapdateli@gmail.com!  Happy Thanksgiving!

 

 

Leave a Reply

